Allard re-elected to Tourism Whistler board 

It was mostly board members in attendance at the Tourism Whistler annual general meeting held on Wednesday, May 16, the evening of the provincial election.

But the 6,000 Tourism Whistler members not present didn’t miss anything new. President Suzanne Denbak ran through the highlights of the annual report for the year 2000, which had been mailed out to members earlier this year. Director of business operations for the organization, Diane Mombourquette, gave her financial report. The financial statements are also detailed in the report that was sent to members.

There were no questions from the floor and there was also no voting for directors done at the AGM. Tourism Whistler moved to a mail-in ballot system this year, as recommended at the 2000 AGM.

The seat for hotel lodging director was the only one contested this year. Jim Allard, of Allard Contractors Ltd. was re-elected to this post, garnering 133 votes out of a potential of more than 6,000. He was running against Rosemary Cook who secure 33 votes. A total of 41 ballots were deemed spoiled.

Allard said at the meeting that he would like to see Tourism Whistler lobby for major safety improvements on Highway 99 and he wants to see the organisation’s residential newsletter improved.

Kerry Wallace, a Squamish resident, won the non-hotel lodging director seat by acclamation. She replaces Stein Gudmundseth, partner in Gudmundseth Mickelson law firm in Vancouver who resigned his seat.

Rick Clare was re-elected as commercial director, by acclamation. Clare, Whistler 1 Hour Photo Owner, is also the chair of the Tourism Whistler board.

Tourism Whistler directors are elected for two-year terms.

The Board of directors consists of seven elected, and six appointed directors.

Elected directors serving the second year of their terms include: Dale Pruden — Whistler Lodging Company; Craig MacKenzie — director at-large; Diana Lyons —Tantalus Resort and Condominium; and David Roberts — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort.

Appointed directors include: David Brownlie — Whistler Blackcomb; Stuart Rempel — Whistler Blackcomb; Suzanne Denbak — Tourism Whistler; Jim Godfrey — Resort Municipality of Whistler; Hugh O'Reilly — Resort Municipality of Whistler.

Bob Adams, past president of the Whistler Chamber of Commerce is an appointed ex-officio director.


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Readers also liked…

Latest in Whistler

© 1994-2019 Pique Publishing Inc., Glacier Community Media

- Website powered by Foundation