Alpine Canada names largest team 

Record 55 skiers named to 2007-08 ski team

By Andrew Mitchell

After finishing this past season with a record 14 medals, a record 44 top-10 results, and a medal at the world championships Alpine Canada has followed up with an aggressive recruitment drive for this season.

Last week Alpine Canada announced a roster of 55 ski racers for the 2007-08 season, a record for the national program. The majority of skiers are returning from last year’s national team or development programs, but 19 new skiers have been added to the national 2010 Acceleration Team.

The women’s team, which earned just one medal last season, will get the biggest boost with 12 new athletes named to the team. Allison Forsyth, who was sidelined last year after injuring her knee training for the 2006 Olympic Winter Games, is also returning to the team.

“The record size of the 2007-08 team shows what we can do with added resources,” said Alpine Canada CEO Ken Read. “We continue to seek the $2 million to $3 million more that is needed each year to truly match the resources of the world’s best.”

Whistler and the Whistler Mountain Ski Club will be represented by siblings Britt and Mike Janyk, as well as Manuel Osborne-Paradis and Robbie Dixon. No additional Whistler skiers were picked this year.

Senior Men

Scott Barrett — Toronto, ON

Patrick Biggs — Orleans, ON

Francois Bourque — New Richmond, QC

Julien Cousineau — Lachute, QC

Robbie Dixon — North Vancouver, BC

Jeffrey Frisch — Mont Tremblant, QC

Erik Guay — Mont Tremblant, QC

Stefan Guay — Mont Tremblant, QC

Jan Hudec — Calgary, AB

Michael Janyk — Whistler, BC

John Kucera — Calgary, AB

Manuel Osborne-Paradis — Vancouver, BC

Jean-Philippe Roy — Ste-Flavie, QC

Ryan Semple — Montreal, QC

Gareth Sine — Calgary, AB

Brad Spence — Banff, AB


CAST Men Invitees

Trevor White — Calgary, AB


Canadian Men’s Development Training Group

Dustin Cook — Lac Sainte Marie, QC

Philippe Crete-Bezle — Cap Rouge, QC

Travis Dawson — Calgary, AB

David Donaldson — Toronto, ON

Louis-Pierre Helie — Berthierville, QC

Brady Leman — Calgary, AB

Tyler Nella — Toronto, ON

Jonathan Robert — Ottawa, ON

Cameron Stuart — Calgary, AB

Patrick Wright — Oakville, ON


Senior Women

Brigitte Acton — Mont Tremblant, QC

Emily Brydon — Fernie, BC

Emilie Desforges — Montreal, QC

Allison Forsyth — Nanaimo, BC

Britt Janyk — Whistler, BC

Sherry Lawrence — Calgary, AB

Christina Lustenberger — Invermere, BC

Marie-Pier Prefontaine — St-Sauveur, QC

Shona Rubens — Canmore, AB

Genvieve Simard — Val-Morin, QC

Kelly Vanderbeek — Kitchener, ON

Larisa Yurkiw — Owen Sound, ON


CAST Women Invitees

Anna Goodman — Pointe Claire, QC

Gail Kelly — Ste-Anges de Beauce, QC

Megan Ryley — Toronto, ON


Women’s 2010 Acceleration Team

Andrea Bliss – Edmonton, AB

Marie-Michele Gagnon — Lac-Etchemin, QC

Anya Holinski — Edmonton, AB

Marie-Elaine Lepine — St-Colomban, QC

Kelly McBroom – Canmore, AB

Alexandra Parker – Calgary, AB

Krystyn Peterson — Mississaugua, ON

Eve Routhier — Sherbrooke, QC

Kate Ryley — Toronto, ON

Kelsey Serwa — Kelowna, BC

Georgia Simmerling — West Vancouver, BC

Elli Terwiel — Heffley Creek, BC

The final selection of the men’s development training group and women’s 2010 acceleration team will be made in October, following the summer training season.

Announcements to coaching staff will be made later this month.

Readers also liked…

Latest in Features

More by Andrew Mitchell

© 1994-2019 Pique Publishing Inc., Glacier Community Media

- Website powered by Foundation