Canadian world championship freestyle team announced 

With only a week to go until the 2001 FIS Freestyle World Ski Championships, the Canadian Freestyle Ski Association has announced the home team for aerials and dual moguls.

The single moguls team will be announced following the World Cup in Mont Tremblant this coming weekend (so keep your fingers crossed for Whistler’s Jason and Dale Begg-Smith).

Only the top four men and women per nation, per discipline, are eligible to compete. The list of contenders is a mix of young talent and experienced veterans.

Men’s Aerials: Nicolas Fontaine (Magog, Que.), Andy Capicik (Vancouver), Steve Omischl (North Bay, Ont.), and Jeff Bean (Ottawa).

Women’s Aerials: Veronika Bauer (Toronto), Deidra Dionne (Red Deer, Alta.), Karen MacDonald (Toronto), and Pascal Gadbois (Pincourt, Que.).

Men’s Dual Moguls: Jean-Luc Brassard (Grand-Ile, Que.), Stephane Rochon (St. Saveur, Que.), Pierre-Alexandre Rousseau (Drummondville, Que.) and Jim Schiman (Cranbrook, B.C.).

Women’s Dual Moguls: Tami Bradley (Vancouver), Jennifer Heil (Spruce Grove, Alta.), Kelly Ringstad (Vancouver), and Jenn Simm (Prince George, B.C.).

Fontaine, Brassard, Rochon and Capicik already have over 100 World Cup medals between them and all four have won World Championship medals in the past. Omischl, Dionne, Bradley and Rousseau are relative newcomers to the podium, but have already proved themselves in international competition.


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Readers also liked…

Latest in Features


B.C. voters will choose a voting system for provincial elections this fall /h3>

This fall, British Columbians will vote on what voting system we should use for provincial elections...more.

© 1994-2018 Pique Publishing Inc., Glacier Community Media

- Website powered by Foundation