CSF nominates 2006 Olympic team 

Four Whistler athletes among 16 boarders chosen for Torino

The Canadian Snowboard Federation nominated a roster of 16 athletes to the Canadian Olympic Committee on Monday to compete in the 2006 Olympic Winter Games this February.

The team includes seven women and nine men, who will represent Canada in the halfpipe, snowboardcross and halfpipe disciplines. Only four athletes of any gender can compete in any disclipline.

World Champion Jasey-Jay Anderson and Whistler’s Maëlle Ricker are the only athletes with previous Olympic experience.

For a few athletes the last two World Cup weekends were crucial. Tom Velisek, Erin Simmons, Sarah Conrad and Philippe Berube earned spaces on the team at events in Whistler and Le Relais, Quebec.

2006 Olympic Team

Sarah Conrad, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia – Halfpipe

Maëlle Ricker, Whistler – Halfpipe, Snowboardcross

Mercedes Nicoll, Whistler – Halfpipe

Dominique Vallee, Montreal, – Halfpipe

Erin Simmons, West Vancouver – Snowboardcross

Dominique Maltais, Montreal – Snowboardcross

Alex Loo, Richmond, B.C. – Parallel GS

Crispin Lipscomb, Whistler – Halfpipe

Justin Lamoureux – Whistler – Halfpipe

Hugo Lemay – Beaport, Quebec – Halfpipe

Brad Martin, Ancaster, Ont. – Halfpipe

Drew Neilson, North Vancouver – Snowboardcross

Tom Velisek, Vernon, B.C. – Snowboardcross

Francois Boivin, Jonquiere, Que – Snowboardcross

Jasey-Jay Anderson, Mont Tremblant – Snowboardcross, Parallel GS

Philippe Berube, Pierrefonds, Que – Parallel GS

In addition to naming the Olympic team, the Canadian Snowboard Federation also revamped its look with a new logo, and revamped their website at www.csf.ca to reflect their new corporate image.

Readers also liked…

Latest in Features

More by Andrew Mitchell

© 1994-2019 Pique Publishing Inc., Glacier Community Media

- Website powered by Foundation