FIS release 2010 qualifying criteria 

Canada’s snow athletes now know exactly what to shoot for next season if they want to compete in the 2010 Olympic Winter Games, with the Federation Internationale de Ski (FIS) releasing their qualifying criteria this week.

In alpine skiing, FIS capped the athlete quota at 320, with a maximum of 22 athletes per nation. Each team can have a maximum of 14 males or females on the team, and a maximum of four athletes per event.

The number of quota spots available to each national Olympic committee (NOC) is decided by one formula for Jan. 18, 2010, while athletes can meet the criteria from July 2008 to Jan. 25, 2010.

As the host nation, Canada is eligible to enter at least one athlete in each event, providing the athlete has been entered as part of the 22-athlete national quota.

For cross country, the number of athletes allowed is 310 with a maximum of 20 per NOC and a maximum of 12 males or 12 females per team. The format allows for up to four athletes in each of the individual events, and one team in the relay events.

Athletes who have a maximum of 100 FIS points can compete in the distance or sprint events, while athletes with a maximum of 120 sprint event points can only compete in Olympic sprint events.

Canada is again allowed to enter one competitor into each event that meets the minimum qualification, and that person is counted as a member of the 20 member national team.

Quota spots per nation will be confirmed by Jan. 22, 2010, while athletes will have from July 2008 to Jan. 25, 2010 to meet FIS criteria to compete.  

For ski jumping there is a maximum of 70 quota spots, and five athletes per NOC. Each nation can field a maximum of four athletes in any individual event, and one team of four in the large hill team competition.

As of yet, female ski jumping has not been included on the schedule for 2010, despite heavy international lobbying on behalf of the sport by Canada and other nations.

The quota spots will be determined by the World Ranking List and Continental Cup standings from the 2008-2009 and 2009-2010 seasons.

Quotas will be calculated by Jan. 18, 2010, and competitors can meet FIS standards from July of 2008 until Jan. 25, 2010.

Readers also liked…

Latest in Features

More by Andrew Mitchell

© 1994-2019 Pique Publishing Inc., Glacier Community Media

- Website powered by Foundation