Huge turnout for Whistler Valley Trail Run 

Close to 200 people took part in the annual Whistler Valley Trail Run Sunday, May 25, running and walking 5 km and 10 km courses in Lost Lake Park.

In the 10 km run, the fastest 19 and under male was Sean MacDonald, 16, who finished in 47:39. Jake Taber, 13, was second in 56:38, while Shane Black, 12, was third in 56:49.

In 20-29, Jenny Brymer was first for the women in 45:25, followed by Catherine O’Neill in 47:59 and Andrea Martinez in 48:11.

In men’s 20-29, Sandy Norval was first in 45:29, followed by Chris Simeoni in 47:36, and David Quinsey in 49:45.

In women’s 30-39, the largest category, Hali Thornhill was first by a long margin in 36:58, followed by Ondrea Ross in 46:07 and Natasha Strim in 49:33.

On the men’s side, the top 30-39 was Guy Patterson in 40:11, followed by Jan Pichler in 45:23 and Woochan Jeong in 45:36.

In women’s 40-49, Cathy Jenkins was first in 50:46, followed by Diana Thaxter in 51:21 and Katherin Fawcett in 52:00.

In men’s 40-49 it was David Smith on top in 40:10, followed by Paul Markety in 45:46 and Grant Finnighan in 48:25.

In 50-59, Linday Brockway was the first woman in 1:02:29, followed by Jane Clifford in 1:09:01.

In men’s 50-59 it was Walter Walgram in 46:02, followed by Tim Roney in 49:11 and Karlis Fogels in 50:30.

In 60-plus, Sandy Menely was the top woman in 51:59, followed by Heather Sidsworth in 1:04:28.

For the men it was Clive Evans in 47:23, followed by Milo Rusimovich in 1:00:09.

In the 5 km division, there was a 15 and Under category. Victoria Jaye, 12, was first for the girls in 32:10, followed by Emily Warin, 9, in 37:18 and Sarah Ford in third in 39:03.

For the boys it was Logan Goodwin, 15, in 22:07, followed by Kyle McCreanor, 13, in 27:11, and Luke Parry, 8, in 27:28.

Bronwyn Lawrie raced alone in the 16-19 category, finishing in 28:18.

In 20-29, Jody Steliga was the top woman in 27:40, followed by Takako Nakayama in 31:00 and Mallory Peternes in 31:47.

On the men’s side it was Christopher Henderson in 23:57, followed by Chad Belanger in 42:39 and Dustin Wiberg in 24:39.

In 30-39 it was Melanie Day in 24:06, Carlee Howell in 28:20 and Lee-Anne Kauffman in 29:54 on the women’s side, and Jody Parry in 21:01, Sean McCreanor in 21:38, and Scott Johnston in 30:04 for the men.

Nicola Everton won the women’s 40 to 49 race in 22:54, followed by Maureen Harriman in 25:43, and Michele Marsh in 26:09. On the men’s side it was Jim Wahrin in 37:21 and Chris Ford in 39:03.

In 50-Plus it was Betty Cosens, 65, in 37:41, followed by Judge Goodwin in 38:11 for the women, and Phil Pyatt in 21:47 and Alexander MacDonald in 33:56.

All results were unofficial at press time, and complete results are available online at


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Readers also liked…

Latest in Features

More by Andrew Mitchell

Sponsored Content

Demystifying the rules around renting out your Whistler home

From average price per night to acquiring the proper license, here’s what you need to know...more.

© 1994-2018 Pique Publishing Inc., Glacier Community Media

- Website powered by Foundation