K2s take provincial titles 

Whistler Mountain Ski Club comes away with six medals and two provincial championships

The top 150 K2 skiers in the province converged on Panorama Mountain Resort this past weekend to battle it out at the Teck K2 Provincials, vying for B.C. titles as well as a chance to represent the province at the upcoming K2 nationals.

The Whistler Mountain Ski Club came away with six medals and two provincial championships.

In the opening giant slalom, the WMSC's Kelly Steeves placed first overall by just 0.04 seconds, followed closely by teammate Elizabeth Kepl. Also in the top 15 were Stefanie Fleckenstein in fourth, Mikayla Martin in sixth, Rachel Vander Veen in seventh, Sabrina Wong in eighth, Caitlin Millham in 10th, Esme McTavish in 11th and Emma Swaffield in 12th.

"I wasn't too happy with my first run so I just decided to go all out on my second and it really paid off," said Steeves. "I'm really proud of all of my teammates from Whistler. The entire team did really well today."

In the first men's event it was Marc Leroux on top in another close race. Dalton Pehota just missed the podium in fourth, Cameron Alexander was fifth and Carson Llewellyn 14th.

In the second GS, Kelly Steeves was first once again, but this time she shared the top step of the podium with Stephanie Gartner of Fernie. Elizabeth Kepl was fourth, Rachel Vander Veen fifth, Stefanie Fleckenstein seventh, Mikayla Martin eighth, Madison Brainard ninth, Emma Swaffield 12th, Esme McTavish 13th and Sabrina Wong 15th.

Riley Seger of the WMSC took the second men's GS, followed closely by teammate Marc Leroux. Dalton Pehota was fourth, Cameron Alexander 12th, Max Peiffer 14th and Jeffrey Cadman 15th.

Kelly Steeves picked up her third medal of the weekend with a bronze in the women's slalom, with Stefanie Fleckenstein moving into fourth. Mikayla Martin was fifth, Rachel Vander Veen sixth, Elizabeth Kepl 11th, Emma Swaffield 14th and Chantal Deane in 15th.

Marc Leroux placed first once again in the men's race. Also in the top 15 were Alex Gershon in eighth, Jeffrey Cadman in 11th and Carson Llewellyn in 13th.

Rachel Vander Veen and Stefanie Fleckenstein were on the podium in the second slalom in second and third respectively. Kelly Steeves dropped back to fifth, Mikayla Martin was sixth, Caitlin Millham was 11th, Eliabeth Kepl was 13th and Siobhan Finan 15th.

On Tuesday, B.C. Alpine announced its provincial team for the nationals taking place in Collingwood, Ontario from Mar. 21 to 25. WMSC skiers on the list include Kelly Steeves, Elizabeth Kepl, Rachel Vander Veen, Stefanie Fleckenstein, Mikayla Martin, Marc Leroux, Riley Seger, Dalton Pehota and Cameron Alexander. WMSC coach Rob Boyd will be heading the team.




Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Readers also liked…

Latest in Features

More by Andrew Mitchell

© 1994-2019 Pique Publishing Inc., Glacier Community Media

- Website powered by Foundation