Lil'wat Nation elects new councillors 

click to enlarge IMAGE SUBMITTED - Election results Lil'wat Nation has elected two new councillors.
  • Image submitted
  • Election results Lil'wat Nation has elected two new councillors.

The Lil'wat Nation has brought two new councillors into the fold.

Tara Smith and Greg Bikadi were elected to join the Lil'wat Nation council in a by-election held Feb. 27.

Smith and Bikadi were among eight names on the ballot, and 323 ballots were cast in the by-election. The candidates for the open seats were named at a nomination meeting held on Dec. 17, 2015.

Smith and Bakadi will join Lil'wat Political Chief Dean Nelson and Cultural Chief Leonard Andrew, as well as current councillors Felicity Nelson, Alphonse Wallace, Helena Edmonds, Maxine Joseph Bruce, Lois Joseph, Vaughan Gabriel, Martina Pierre, Joshua Anderson and Rosemary Stager.



Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Readers also liked…

Latest in Sea to Sky

More by Braden Dupuis


B.C. voters will choose a voting system for provincial elections this fall /h3>

This fall, British Columbians will vote on what voting system we should use for provincial elections...more.

© 1994-2018 Pique Publishing Inc., Glacier Community Media

- Website powered by Foundation