Local riders take Fluidride glory 


The Fluidride Cup series is one of the biggest pro-am downhill circuits in North America, the kind of place you find World Cup racers on an off-week from the tour.

This past weekend, the series dropped into Whistler for the first time, offering two different courses for different levels of riders. The Pro and Category I riders tackled Upper Whistler Downhill, Detroit Rock City and Lower Canadian Open. Category II and III riders had a course than included Angry Pirate, Crab Apple, Samurai Pizza Cat, Ho Chi Minh and Monkey Hands - a longer but less technical route.

A field of 175 racers turned out on Sunday to race, shrugging off the wet and slippery conditions.

In Pro Men, Tyler Gorz of Coquitlam took the win in 3:03.94, followed by Whistler's Kenny Smith in 3:05.39. Luciano Worl of Washington was third in 3:09.16. Other local riders in the running include Kevin Bartkowski in fourth place in 3:09.22 and Adam Mantle in 11 th in 3:18.75.

In Pro Women, Danice Uyesugi of the North Shore took the win in 3:39.08. Whistler's Katrina Strand placed second in 3:45.49. Kari Mancer, Dawn Cashen and Maime Hill were fourth, fifth and seventh respectively.

In Category I Men 15 to 18, Whistler's Nicholas Geddes won the race in 3:04.21, followed by Tyler Allison in 3:11.82. Chayse Marshall of Kamloops was third in 3:13.48.

Squamish riders Jordan Gosteli and Owen Scully were fifth and sixth, and Kip Shortreed was 13 th . Whistler's Max Horner had the fastest qualifying time but was a DNF (Did Not Finish).

In Category I Men 19 to 29, Whistler's Ian Morrison won the race in 3:20.84, followed by German racer Gregory Voss in 3:24.57 and Evan Palmer of Washington in 3:25.49.

Locals in the running include Dan Diedricksen of Whistler in seventh, and Leo Brandvold and Clinton Gould of Squamish in 11 th and 12 th .

Mark Bunyan of Squamish won the Category I Men 30 to 39 race in 3:24.81, followed by Tyler Earnheart and Matt Patterson of Washington in 3:26.10 and 3:27.84.

In Category I Men 40-Plus, Whistler's Graham Beatty placed first in 3:32.96, followed by Bryan Gioia of Port Moody in 3:36.54 and Jerry Southworth of Washington in 3:56.74.

In Category I Open Women, the first rider was Lindsay Trimble of Burnaby in 4:15.69, followed by Karaleen Westmoreland of Port Moody in 4:29.69.

In Category II Men 15 to 18, Alexander Geddes of Whistler placed first in 4:19.89, followed by Lee Jackson of Squamish in 4:24.37. Thomas Zonneveld of Langley picked up third place in 4:29.77. Brin Alexander was 16 th .

In Category II Men 13 to 14, Jack Iles of Whistler was first in 4:54.01, followed by Benjamin Jelinek of Washington in 5:33.54.

In Category II Men 19 to 29, the winner was Berenel Boer of Whistler in 4:19.32, followed by Paul Stevens of Whistler in 4:21.23. Jesse Ballhausen of Pemberton was third in 4:29.51.

Other local results include Damon Commerer in 4:40.17, Ben Hoffmann in 4:47.02 and Alf Brockett in 5:02.71. Stacy Kohut, a disabled rider on a four-wheel bike, was 20 th .

James Splinter of Pemberton was fourth in Category II 30 to 39 in 5:03.37, with the top three spots going to riders from Washington: Scott Kemp in 4:35.20, Kim Sturts in 4:52.41 and Andrew Pickering in 5:02.54.

In Category II 40 to 49, Washington's Adrian Whitfield and Jim McCracken were first and second, with times of 5:15.12 and 5:16.48, followed by Joe Sales of Vancouver in 5:17.38.

In Category II Women Open, Simmone Lyons of Whistler was first in 5:17.05, followed by Emily Slaco of Gold Bridge in 5:35.19 and Yvonne Gillette of Washington in 6:01.38.

The downhill schedule for the summer is still being finalized, including dates for the Phat Wednesday series. Registration for Crankworx events also got underway last week at www.crankworx.com.




Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Readers also liked…

Latest in Features

More by Andrew Mitchell

© 1994-2019 Pique Publishing Inc., Glacier Community Media

- Website powered by Foundation