Mouton Cadet serves it up 

The annual Mouton Cadet Spring Festival took place last weekend, with season passholders and teams from hotels and restaurants squaring off in the last big social race of the season.

As usual there was a good turnout, with skiers enjoying one of our first true spring skiing days of the season on Saturday, and the mix of snowboarders and skiers enjoying a relapse to winter conditions on Sunday.

The Passholder race had a guess-your own format, where skiers and boarders tried to ski as closely to their estimated times as possible.

This year Donna Wango and David Trussler came the closest, finishing just 0.03 seconds off their expected guess times. Both won a Whistler-Blackcomb season’s pass for the 2003-2004 season, and some Mouton Cadet clothing.

Claudia Frowein was third, just 0.1 seconds back of her guess, to win a pair of Atomic 9.22 skis and a long sleeve fleece from Mouton Cadet. Alfred Zeilberger, just 0.11 off, won an Atomic snowboard and a Mouton athletic shirt. Other prizes in the top-10 included spots in the Dave Murray Ski Camp, the Stephanie Sloan Women’s Clinic, and Whistler-Blackcomb Ski School.

The fastest male in the race was Brett Lasorella. Wendy Harrison was the fastest woman, and Walter Dorken won the prize for best costume.

In the Restaurant Race on the following day, co-ed groups of three were ranked by their combined times.

At the top of the list once again was the Hotel Vancouver 900 West with the team of Luc Bordeleau, Judy Ameli and Joseph Scheffer posting a combined time of one minute, 10.72 seconds. Almost half a minute back was the Cannery Team A with a combined time of 1:40.45. The Hotel Vancouver Griffins were third in 2:15.05.

From Whistler, Hy’s Steakhouse was the top Whistler ski team with a time of 1:16.74.

In the media category, Team 1040 – Sanae Tanaka, Russell Clark and Patrick Maloney – blew everyone away with a time of 1:09.35. They were followed by the Georgia Straights and the Province Newspaper with times of 1:31.23 and 2:31.42.

In the snowboard category, the Caramba Cruisers – Dave Sakolinsky, Kim Saprunoff and Josh Freeman – finished first with a time of 1:13.58. Hy’s Steakhouse was second in 1:14.47, and the Busty Bavarian Babes, an all-women team, was third in 1:19.21.

In the snowboard media team category, the Speedy Piques Plus Alison raced unopposed to win with a time of 1:28.47.

Readers also liked…

Latest in Features

© 1994-2020 Pique Publishing Inc., Glacier Community Media

- Website powered by Foundation