National snowboard team announced 

Whistler riders prominent on national and development teams

On Aug. 19, the Canadian Snowboard Federation formally announced the national and development teams for the 2002-03 seasons.

In the past the team was divided into alpine and freestyle disciplines, but this season there will be a dedicated snowboard cross team as well.

This season the national team will compete at World Cup events around the World as well as the FIS World Championships in Kreischberg, Austria. Other events include the FIS NorAm Circuit, European Continental Cups, the national and junior national championships, the FIS World Junior Championships, and various independently run contests such as the U.S. Open.

As always the teams include a strong sample of local snowboarding talent on both the national and development teams.

The coaches were also announced. Martin Jensen of Calgary is the high performance program director. Tom Hutchinson of Val-David, Quebec, will coach the national freestyle team; Christian Hrab of Whistler will coach the national alpine team; Joe McAdoo of Whistler will coach the national development team for freestyle; and Greg Salmon of Whistler will coach the development team for alpine.

Freestyle Men

Brett Carpentier – Tremblant, PQ

Mike Michalchuk – Pemberton, B.C.

Guillaume Morisset – Stoneham, PQ

Freestyle Women

Lori Glazier – Whistler, B.C.

Mercedes Nicoll – Whistler, B.C.

Maelle Ricker – Vancouver, B.C.

Dominique Vallee – Whistler, B.C.

Natasza Zurek – Vancouver, B.C.

Alpine Men

Jasey-Jay Anderson – Tremblant, PQ

Francois Boivin – Jonquiere, PQ

Darren Chalmers – Whistler, B.C.

Ryan Wedding – Vancouver, B.C.

Alpine Women

Melissa Barclay – St Ferreol-les-Neiges, PQ

Helene Cloutier – St Joseph-de-Beauce, PQ

Alexa Loo – Vancouver, B.C.

Snowboard Cross Men

Francois Boivin – Jonquiere, PQ

Robert Fagan – Cranbrook, B.C.

Drew Neilson – Whistler, B.C.

Ben Wainwright – Whistler, B.C.

Snowboard Cross Women

Allison Amos – Whistler, B.C.

Alexa Loo – Vancouver, B.C.

Development Freestyle Men

Neal Connolly – Collingwood, ON

Trevor Jennings – Midhast, ON

Hugo Lemay – Beauport, PQ

Crispin Lipscomb – Whistler, B.C.

Development Freestyle Women

Sarah Conrad – Dartmouth, N.S.

Sarah Kopinya – Whistler, B.C.

Isabelle Piche – Buckingham, PQ

Helen Schetinni – Kamloops, B.C.

Development Alpine Men

David Vaughn – Fredericton, N.B.

Phillipe Berube – Pierrefonds, PQ

Mike Kwiatkowski – Vancouver, B.C.

Development Alpine Women

Aimee Newton – Calgary, AB

Constance Boisvert – Ste Foy, PQ

Readers also liked…

Latest in Features

© 1994-2020 Pique Publishing Inc., Glacier Community Media

- Website powered by Foundation