National snowboard training team announced 

Whistler and B.C. were well-represented when the Canadian Snowboard Federation announced the 24 athletes invited to the 2001-2002 Canadian National Snowboard Team program.

Athletes were invited based on their performances and points accumulated last season rather than the opinion of coaches, but leeway was given to athletes who were injured.

Some snowboarders were also invited to participate as members of the national development team, based on their potential.

The Alpine Team was chosen by the FIS (Federation Internationale de Ski) rankings in the giant slalom and parallel giant slalom from the lists released in April. FIS points were also used to help select halfpipe athletes.

Athletes who earned Olympic quota spots for Canada (a minimum of two top-16 performances in FIS World Cup competition) were also given priority.

Men’s Halfpipe (6)

Trevor Andrew

Gabriel Authier

Brett Carpentier

Justin Lamoureux

Mike Michalchuk

Guillaume Morisset

Men’s HP Development (3)

David Melancon

Daniel Migneault

Charles Perreault

Women’s Halfpipe (6)

Kim Dunn

Lori Glazier

Maelle Ricker

Manon Roy

Dominique Vallee

Natasza Zurek

Women’s HP Development (3)

Stacey Burke

Stephanie Gervais

Mercedes Nicoll

Men’s Alpine (8)

Jasey-Jay Anderson

Francois Boivin

Darren Chalmers

Mark Fawcett

Ian Hadgkiss

David Vaughan

Jerome Sylvestre

Ryan Wedding

Men’s Alpine Development (3)

Matt Horne

AJ Johnson

Mike Kwiatkowski

Women’s Alpine (4)

Melissa Barclay

Helene Cloutier

Michele Charles

Alexa Loo

Women’s Alpine Development (4)

Laura Behan

Constance Boisvert

Aimee Newton

Sarah Plummer

Readers also liked…

Latest in Features

© 1994-2019 Pique Publishing Inc., Glacier Community Media

- Website powered by Foundation