New course, new record for Phat Wednesday 

click to enlarge sports_results2.jpg

The July 4 Phat Wednesday field broke all records with 266 riders taking part, which is about 30 per cent higher than the so far unenforced cap of 200 riders that organizers started with.

To handle the increase in numbers, organizers have moved the start of registration to 4:30 p.m. on race days, and will start the first riders at 5:15 p.m. As a result, future races will be capped at 300.

The course was a mix of trails and riding styles with the top part of A-Line, After Atlantis, Lower Angry Pirate, World Cup Single Track and B-Line.

The Male Open category featured 153 riders, and predictably came down to fractions of a second. Trev Burke topped the list in 3:49.44, followed closely by Dylan Wolsky in 3:49.67 and Berend Boer in 3:49.83.

Rounding out the top 10 were Cameron Allonby in 3:50.39, Tom Oja in 3:52.08, Adam Billinghurst in 3:52.22, Shane Gayton in 3:52.89, Dan Skogland in 3:53.00, Simon Buzacott in 3:53.15 and Denis Courchesne in 3:53.17.

Sarah Leishman once again led the women, finishing in a speedy 4:11.57, less than two tenths of a second ahead of Katrina Strand's time of 4:11.76. Carrie Meltzer was third in 4:20.28.

In the top 10 were Pat Moreno in 4:26.38, Simmone Lyons in 4:32.96, Lisa Mason in 4:34.82, Maria Darquier in 4:36.90, Rachelle Frazer in 4:37.57, Kelly Ann Rooney in 4:37.84 and Kathleen McGill in 4:38.73. There were 28 riders in the category.

In the Masters group, Robin Potvin placed first in 3:54.77, followed closely by Chris Dewar in 3:55.35 and Andrew Gunn in 3:56.34.

In the top 10 were Mathieu Hebert in 3:57.09, Steve Storey in 3:57.50, Mark Robertson in 3:58.62, Luke Radnor in 4:00.77, Chris Addario in 4:01.94, Jon Moon in 4:02.15 and Dom Wrapson in 4:02.55. There were 54 racers at the start.

With some of the top local juniors in Quebec for nationals, the junior category opened up a little this week. Adison MacDonald took the win in a very fast 4:00.27, followed by Brad Jansen in 4:09.16 and Bracken Camilleri in 4:10.28. In the top 10 were Felipe Swerts in 4:12.30, Felix Burke in 4:17.85, Jesse Merks in 4:17.85, Edi Schreyer in 4:19.69, Spencer Wight in 4:20.62, Max Buchan in 4:22.43 and Felix Hentschel in 4:30.58. There were 24 racers this week.

Jenna Wilkins and Ava Buchan were the only junior female racers, with Wilkins finishing first in 4:37.56, followed by Buchan in 4:51.43.

Christian Massot and Kenton Dunning won the Sram drive trains, Josh Lyons the Truvativ cranks, Kristina Chappetta and Dave Houghton the Maxxis tires, Tom Grundy the Kali helmet and Taylor Donahoe the Rock Shox fork.

Results from the July 11 race will be posted next week. Future races are July 18, Aug. 1 and Aug. 29.

For more on the series, visit

Readers also liked…

Latest in Results

More by Andrew Mitchell

© 1994-2019 Pique Publishing Inc., Glacier Community Media

- Website powered by Foundation