Nordics head to midget championships 

The Whistler Nordics sent a large team of athletes to the B.C. Midgets Championship at Larch Hills Ski Area outside of Salmon Arm last weekend, with more than 180 kids born between 1997 and 2000 taking part. For many of the skiers it was their first introduction to competitive skiing. Most of the boys have only been in the sport for two years.

Michael Murdoch won the men's 2 km classic sprint by more than 24 seconds in the 2000 age group, while teammates Ian Davidson and Samuel Johnston finished just off the podium, fourth and fifth out of 20 racers. Other Whistler skiers were Graeme Bowers seventh and Fraser Doak 10 th . Joe Davies and Tory Rozsypalek of the Spud Valley Nordics were ninth and 16 th .

Benita Peiffer was the top Whistler racer in the female 2000 category, placing eighth. Alisa Feuz, Cassia Jean and Madeline Beaudry of the Spud Valley Nordics were 14 th , 17 th and 18 th , with Lace Anderson of Whistler 16 th .

In the 1999 category the top local racer was Erica Van Loon of the Spud Valley Nordics, 11 th , with teammates Jesse Bull, Kaede Kawano and Emily Knight 14 th , 17 th and 18 th . Caitlin MacConnachie and Sierra Cordingley were 19 th and 20 th for the Whistler Nordics.

Owen Rieth was ninth on the boys' side, with Bendigo Steager and Jonathan Rabung-Simeon 23 rd and 24 th for Spud Valley.

Lyla Nordin of the Whistler Nordics was 22 nd in the 1998 competition, with teammates Emily Wharin and Jordynn Anderson 29 th and 31 st . Ahmani Jones of Spud Valley was 27 th .

Austin Reith and Conrad Murdoch were 11 th and 15 th in the boys' 1997 group.

Spud Valley and Whistler were 16 th and 17 th in the mixed 4x1.5 km classic relay.

In the men's relay The Bros from the Whistler Nordics were fifth, while the Fantastic Four placed 10 th .

There was also a sprint event. Michael Murdoch was second in the 2000 boys category, followed by Ian Davidson and Sam Johnston in third and fourth place, Fraser Doak seventh and Graeme Bowers 11 th . Owen Reith was fifth in the 1999 group and Conrad Murdoch 13 th in the 1997 race.

For the women, Benita Peiffer was sixth in the 2000 group, with Lace Anderson 17 th . Serria Cordingley and Caitlin MacConnachie were 19 th and 20 th in the 1999 race, and Gabby Smith sixth, Iyla Nordin 20 th , Emily Wharin 21 st and Jordynn Anderson 27 th in the 1998 group.




Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Readers also liked…

Latest in Features

More by Andrew Mitchell

© 1994-2019 Pique Publishing Inc., Glacier Community Media

- Website powered by Foundation