N'Quatqua re-elect two 

By Clare Ogilvie

N’Quatqua Band elections were held last week to fill two councillor seats.

Both positions were won by the incumbents, Teresa Barney with 50 votes and Julie Thevarge, who received 44 votes. Their terms will run until 2011.

They were challenged by Margaret Gellatly who won 43 votes, Karen Thevarge, who received 42 votes, Lisa (Sambo) Roberts, who won 37 votes, and Ryan Peters Sr., who won 11 votes. In all a total of 227 votes were counted and witnessed April 26.

The chief and members of council are elected to four-year terms, with elections staggered to take place every two years. Chief Harry O’Donaghey and Councillor Rebecca Barley were elected in 2005 and their mandate to serve runs through the spring of 2009.


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Readers also liked…

Latest in Whistler

More by Clare Ogilvie

© 1994-2019 Pique Publishing Inc., Glacier Community Media

- Website powered by Foundation