Sea 2 Summit tops out with 240 competitors 

It was a busy weekend for all of the solos, teams of two and teams of four that took part in the annual Sea 2 Summit adventure race, going by boat, bike and foot from Deep Cove in Vancouver to Whistler. The turnout was solid with over 240 competitors in the field.

Day one started with a paddle from Deep Cove to the end of Indian Arm, followed by a 58 km mountain bike into Squamish. From there competitors did a short trek before finishing for the day.

Day two started with a 75 km mountain bike ride from the Cheakamus Canyon to Whistler Creek, over trails wherever possible. Following the ride competitors had to trek up and over Whistler Mountain via the Northwest Passage before descending to the finish in Whistler Village.

In the solo category, North Vancouver’s David Kvick was first across the finish line with a two-day time of 11 hours, six minutes and 38 seconds. James Shaw, also of North Van, was the second solo male in 11:49:02, while Vancouver’s Ron Carmichael was third with a time of 12:09:08.

Gary Robbins, who moved from Whistler to Squamish this year, was the top Sea to Sky athlete with a time of 13:01:58.

Daniel Havens of Whistler missed the first day of competition to get a DNF, but had a strong second day with one of the fastest run and trek times.

In the solo women’s race Ontario’s Caroline Van Den Bulk took the win with a time of 15:25:40. It was a close race with Angie Bryans of Fernie coming in at 15:28:34. Isabela Rudol was third in 17:37:09.

In the Team of Two Male race, Denis Fontaine and Justin Mark were the top duo with a time of 11:44:20. Team Anger Management, James Luxmoore and Adam Smith, were second in 12:24:54, while the Hustlers, Paul Sharman and Phil Johnston, were third in 12:50:09.

In the women’s Team of Two race, long distance athlete Lisa Polizzi of Australia and Carey Sather of Nanaimo teamed up to win the day in 13:29:01. There were followed by Twinchicks, Michelle Newton and Alex Watson, in 14:23:00, and Team Sissie Pie in 15:21:48.

In the co-ed pairs, the Helly Hansen Frontrunners, Normon Thibault and Wendy Sims of Nanaimo, were first in 11:30:40. Team Yukon, Denise McHale and Greg McHale, were second in 13:07:07, while Terrascape Racing, Roy Custodio and Marisa Tosi, were third in 15:17:25.

In the Team of Four Male group, No Excuse took the top spot in 14:54:44, followed by Team Stink in 16:22:00, and I Thought in 18:13:10.

In the women’s category, No Name At This Time took the win in 18:52:12, followed by Team Layton in 19:53:04.

In the co-ed category Team Trek Red Truck Beer took the win in 14:08, followed closely by the Whistler team, Eye Candy Up Front in 14:26:38. Eye Candy includes Oliver Flaser, Nils Robinson, Marnie Walter and Cameron Worman.

Team Secondwind was third in 15:20:50.

For more information and complete results visit

Readers also liked…

Latest in Features

© 1994-2019 Pique Publishing Inc., Glacier Community Media

- Website powered by Foundation