Semenuk victorious at last 

20,000-plus fans watch Whistler rider win Red Bull Joyride

Page 5 of 7

Anne Caroline Chausson repeated her win in the Air DH to take the pro women's category in 4:33.16, almost eight seconds ahead of Jill Kintner's 4:40.98. Whistler racers Sarah Leishman, Casey Brown and Claire Buchar were third through fifth respectively, with Katrina Strand picking up eighth.

Stacy Kohut didn't have anyone to race with this year in the four-wheel category, but finished in 6:05.72 - pretty good for a rig without any pedals.

In Amateur Women 19-Plus, the top three were Julie Istvan in 4:53.82, Trish Bromley in 4:58.37 and Shelly Flood in 4:59.10.

Whistler's Jack Iles was first out of 43 racers in Boys 13 to 15 with a time of 4:35.72. Jayson Giorio was second in 4:39.79 and Australia's Cameron Ryan third in 4:40.55.

Kelowna's Bas Van Steenbergen won the Junior Men 16 to 18 group in 4:28.45, followed by Maxime Chapuis of Switzerland in 4:31.41 and Luca Cometti of the U.S. in 4:33.43.

Kyana Livingstone was first in Junior Women 13 to 18 in 5:14.58. She was followed by Ava Buchan of the U.S. in 5:29.83 and Danno Kennedy in 5:43.70.

Mathieu Hebert topped the Master Amateur Men 30-Plus group in 4:31.51, followed by Andrew Gunn in 4:32.91 and Tyler Earnheart in 4:35.15.

Regan Hogelie won the Senior Amateur Men 19 to 29 in 4:29.27, followed by Corey Hatch in 4:29.82 and Robin Potvin in 4:30.01.


Phillips, Zink top Trick Showdown

Riders got their first opportunity to compete on the Red Bull Joyride course on Thursday at the Teva Best Trick Showdown.

Benny Phillips, an Australian who recently moved to Whistler, landed a 360 double downside whip to win the top air. There was no shortage of flip-whips and other tricks. Andreu Lacondeguy actually over-rotated his attempt at a double backflip. Phillips won $4,000 for his efforts, plus a handful of cash from the announcers.

The second obstacle of the evening, the Kokanee Cabin, was also worthy fo the highlight reel. There were a few interesting flip-whips, including one by 15-year-old Anthony Messere. Kyle Strait might have taken the event with a double whip - if it wasn't for Cam Zink, the 2010 Crankworx slopestyle winner - landing a corked front flip off the lip to win $4,000.

Readers also liked…

Latest in Features

More by Andrew Mitchell

© 1994-2020 Pique Publishing Inc., Glacier Community Media

- Website powered by Foundation