SLRD board faces election changes 

Dir. Heintzman, Craddock and Gimse won't seek re-election

click to enlarge FILE PHOTO - changing places  The SLRD will have a new look after this November's municipal election.
  • File photo
  • changing places The SLRD will have a new look after this November's municipal election.

When the votes are counted and the results announced after this November's municipal elections, the board of directors at the Squamish-Lillooet Regional District (SLRD) will have a decidedly different look to it.

Of the nine directors on the board, three have announced they won't be seeking re-election.

Patricia Heintzman, board chair and District of Squamish representative, Ted Craddock, director for the Village of Pemberton and Area C Director Susie Gimse have all announced they won't be running in the upcoming election.

"This was a difficult decision, but after much consideration and soul searching I know it's the best decision for me," Gimse said, in an emailed statement.

"I've had the opportunity to meet and work with some amazing people and I leave knowing that we've accomplished a lot. For the most part I've found the work gratifying, recognizing that no matter how hard you try you cannot please everyone all the time."

As of Pique's press time, only one new candidate had filed nomination papers for the upcoming election — retired Pemberton Fire Rescue Chief Russell Mack will run for Gimse's soon-to-be vacated seat.

Area B Director Mickey Macri and Area A Director Debbie Demare both confirmed that they would be running again.

If re-elected, Demare said this would likely be her last term on the board.

"That said, we are working hard to rebuild our area to a sustainable level, overcoming the challenges of rural interior economies where the resource sector has centralized away from small places like this, worker population is often in/out and government services are also moved to bigger places," Demare said in an email.

Squamish Director Rob Kirkham, Whistler Director Jack Crompton and Lillooet Director Dennis Bontron are all running again in their respective communities.

Each of those councils will decide who will represent each community on the SLRD board after the election.

As of press time, Area D Director Moe Freitag was the only director who had yet to declare his intentions.

If Freitag chooses not to run and no other candidates come forward for Area D, the nomination period will be extended until Tuesday, Oct. 14.

If there are still no candidates after the extended nomination period, The SLRD board will be tasked with appointing a new director for Area D.


In Pemberton, councillors Ted Craddock and Alan Leblanc have both chosen not to seek re-election, while councillor James Linklater has announced his intention to once again run for council and councillor Mike Richman has filed nomination papers to run for mayor of Pemberton.

Former Pemberton councillor Mark Blundell has also submitted nomination papers to run for mayor.

The nomination period for all municipal elections ends at 4 p.m. on Friday, Oct. 10.

Municipal elections will be held across the province on November 15.

Speaking of Election2014

Readers also liked…

Latest in Sea to Sky

More by Braden Dupuis

© 1994-2019 Pique Publishing Inc., Glacier Community Media

- Website powered by Foundation