Smith fastest of Phat freeriders 

A field of close to 200 riders turned out for the third Phat Wednesday downhill race on July 15, a combination of Upper A Line, World Cup Single Track and Ho Chi Min.

Kenny Smith placed first out of 116 riders in the open men's category with his time of three minutes, 28.7 seconds, a second and a half ahead of Keven Bartowski (3:30.20). Harry Armstrong was a close third in 3:30.31.

Rounding out the top 10 were Joseph Taylor, Adam Billinghurst, Reuben Miller, Robin Potvin, Darcy Murreell, Mathieu Hebert and Easton Smith.

Beth Parsons was the fastest rider out of 18 women in the female open category with her time of 3:56.63. Sarah Leishman was second in 3:57.88 and Carrie Poole third in 4:13.04. Also in the top 10 were Rachelle Fraser, Cami Falk, Alexis White, Savannah Rogers, Beatrice Jacob, Julie Berry and Simmone Lyons.

Ian Morrison was the top junior rider, and is now three-for-three in Phat Wednesday races. He finished in 3:34:47, with Viera Frederico Da Costa second in 3:38.69 and Richard Leacock third in 3:40.45. Next up were Martin Lacroix, Wyatt Dressler, Zander Geddes, Oscar Capstun, Ryan Gillett, Tom McCarthy and Jeff Trimble.

In Master 30-plus Chad Hendren was the rider to beat, finishing in 3:38.76. Joel Robinson was a close second in 3:39.32, followed by Jason Josling in 3:41.14. Next up were Rachid Moumou, Todd Hellinga, Andrew Gunn, Jeff Leigh, Antoni Oates, Alan Golds and Adrian McGree.

Matt Wood won the prize draw for the Sram drivetrain. Matt Parkinson won the Giro full face helmet. Jose Pinto won the Hayes brakes and Ava Buchan won a set of Mavic rims.

The second Phat Wednesday race - a separate race series on more technical trails - took place on July 22.

The next Phat Wednesday race is on July 29, followed by events on Aug. 19 and 26.

To take part you must be a member of WORCA (memberships available at, have a valid lift pass (discounted passes are available), and chip in $2 to the prize purse. Registration is at 5 p.m. at the Garbanzo Bike and Bean and races get underway at 6 p.m. Get there early, as the race is limited to 200 riders.


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Readers also liked…

Latest in Features

© 1994-2019 Pique Publishing Inc., Glacier Community Media

- Website powered by Foundation