September 09, 2005 Features & Images » Feature Story

‘Standard’ tests explained 

B.C. public schools use two sets of standard tests. One set are the "FSA" tests. These are used to assess the progress of student cohorts (students in the same grade) and provide indicators against which schools can set goals for improvement. They are not used to assess individual students or to modify individual curriculum: this is the task of the classroom teacher who best knows the student.

The second set of standard tests are the "Provincial Exams" at the senior high school level. These tests are used to determine that students can demonstrate the minimum competencies for high school graduation and they are used by post-secondary institutions to provide equal comparisons between students coming from different schools. One benefit of this is that B.C. students do not need to write a standardized SAT test for entrance into B.C. post secondary institutions.

Interactive Map

Today's COVID-19 cases in Canada

Click each province to see the number of confirmed COVID-19 cases, deaths, recovered patients, and tests administered...more.

Latest in Feature Story

© 1994-2020 Pique Publishing Inc., Glacier Community Media

- Website powered by Foundation