Team Canada announced for Worlds 

Four Whistler riders on the list

On Aug. 7, the Canadian Cycling Association announced the team that will represent Canada at the 2002 World Mountain Bike Championships. The races will be held at Kaprun, Austria, between Aug. 24 and Sept. 1.

Four Whistler riders qualified for the team, which was decided by a selection committee. British Columbia also supplied more than half of the team, with 29 of the 51 riders selected hailing from the province.

From Whistler, Will Routley is competing in the Espoir category, Sylvie Allen and Claire Buchar will be competing in the Elite Women’s downhill race, and Brook Baker will be competing in the Junior Women’s downhill.

According to Routley, the Whistler group will be hosting a fundraiser for the event in the next few weeks. If your business is interested in helping local riders get to the world championships, contact Will or Tony Routley at 604-938-9693.

Team Canada 2002

Cross Country

Elite Men:

Roland Green – B.C.

Andreas Hestler – B.C.

Bill Hurley – QC

Geoff Kabush – B.C.

Seamus McGrath – ON

Chris Sheppard – B.C.

Mathieu Toulouse – QC

Peter Wedge – NB

Elite Women

Kiara Bisaro – B.C.

Eron Chorney – B.C.

Marie-Helene Premont – QC

Chrissy Reddy – ON

Gtrish Sinclair – B.C.

Alison Sydor – B.C.

Sandra Walter – B.C.

Espoir Men

Shawn Bunnin – SK

Jamie Douglas – B.C.

Ricky Federau – B.C.

Ryder Hesjedal – B.C.

Will Routley – B.C.

Kris Sneddon – B.C.

Junior Men

Frederic Bussieres – QC

Adam Coates – SK

Maximilian Plaxton – B.C.

Ryan Thorpe – ON

Jeremy Trudel – QC

Derek Zandstra – ON

Junior Women

Sophie-Anee Blanchette – QC

Mathilde Hupin-Debeurme – QC

Jean Ann McKirdy – B.C.

Kate Scallion – NS

Elsie Torresan – QC

Catherine Vipond – ON


Elite Men

Dustin Adams – B.C.

Rob Hewitt – B.C.

Mike Jones – B.C.

Mathieu Laurin – QC

Brant Lyon – B.C.

Geoff Pendrel – B.C.

Elite Women

Sylvie Allen – B.C.

Cassandra Boon – B.C.

Claire Buchar – B.C.

Michelle Dumaresq – B.C.

Cassidy Johnson – QC

Sheila Morris – ON

Junior Men

Kwanah Sioui – QC

Mathieu Lagrange – QC

Brian Musselam – B.C.

Thomas Vanderham – B.C.

Junior Women

Brook Baker – B.C.

Darcy Tyrenne – B.C.

Readers also liked…

Latest in Features

© 1994-2019 Pique Publishing Inc., Glacier Community Media

- Website powered by Foundation