Top guns turn out for Loonar Enduro 

The annual Bill Landry Memorial Loonar Enduro took place this past Saturday, with solos and teams of two seeing how many laps of an Alice Lake area course they could cram in before the 8 p.m. cutoff — with the last hour and a half of the race taking place in the dark.

Wendy Baker was the top solo female with 11 laps, while Matt Parker was the top male with 15 laps, or more than two laps an hour.

The mixed category went to the team of John Irvine and Sara Porter with 16 laps.

Lauren Roser and Kristen Draygas won the Under 15 Women’s category with 12 laps, while Mo Lawrence and Sam Bowerman won the U15 Men’s race with 15.

Whistler’s Kerry Anne Hamilton and Victoria Whitney won the junior women’s race with 12 laps, while Kyle Salter and Michael Mee were the top junior men with 16 laps.

Whistler’s Jennifer Tabbernor and Heather Lamson were top women’s team with 15 laps, while the team of Ryan Edwards and Neal Kindree, one of Canada’s top mountain bike racers, posted an amazing 19 laps as the top men’s team, averaging almost three laps per hour.

Readers also liked…

Latest in Features

More by Andrew Mitchell

© 1994-2019 Pique Publishing Inc., Glacier Community Media

- Website powered by Foundation