Tourism Whistler board to elect new board members 

Position of commercial and single managed lodging-small up for grabs

Of the seven elected seats on the Tourism Whistler's 13-member board of directors, two are up for grabs in next month's election.

For the position of commercial director, four candidates have been put forward, including incumbent Rick Clare of Whistler's Foto Source and Coast Mountain Photography; Annique Aird of Scandinave Spa; Duane Hepditch of Guest Folio; and Wayne Katz of Gone Bakery, Moguls and Zog's.

"I'm co-president of the restaurant association (of Whistler) and we felt it was important to have a voice of the food and beverage industry on the board," said Katz of his decision to run.

"I just hope that being a long time resident and being aware of things that go on... that I can contribute my opinions and thoughts and then those thoughts that have come from other people who share their thoughts with me. I get a lot of feedback, I own several businesses in town and a lot of locals patronize those establishments and I get a lot of their comments communicated to me."

The remaining position of single managed lodging - small director has been targeted by incumbent Saad Hasan of Lodging Ovations and Marlene Scott of Whistler Vacation Club. No candidates came forward for the third position up for election this year, that of multi-managed lodging - Benchlands, which will be retained by incumbent Brenda Baker.

Although board nominees aren't required to be members of Tourism Whistler, they must be nominated by at least two members in good standing.

Individuals or businesses eligible to vote for the Commercial Director must have commercial leases in commercial spaces on resort land, including the Village, Benchlands, Marketplace and the business area in Franz's Trail, Nita Lake Lodge and the Gateways complex at Creekside. They must complete a Commercial Tenant Use Declaration Form by March 31, 2011. All elected directors serve a two-year term.

The remaining six board members are appointed and include two representatives from the Resort Municipality of Whistler, two representatives from Whistler Blackcomb, the President and CEO of Tourism Whistler and an ex-officio from the Whistler Chamber of Commerce.

Voting will be available online, in person or by proxy at the annual general meeting scheduled for Thursday, May 19 at 9 a.m. at the Whistler Conference Centre. Online voting opens April 19 (members will receive login and password information from Tourism Whistler prior to the opening of the voting period).

Election results will be announced at the AGM.




Readers also liked…

Latest in Whistler

More by Susan Hollis

© 1994-2019 Pique Publishing Inc., Glacier Community Media

- Website powered by Foundation