Triple Crown adds twists, bumps to Telus Mobility Winter Classic 

The organizers of the Telus Mobility Winter Classic race changed the format this year from a guess-your-own time giant slalom to a winner-takes-all triple crown event with runs down the snowcross course, and a mogul field, as well as the race.

Competitors raced as teams, and the teams with the lowest times won.

The teams were divided into different flights, based on the ability level of the athletes.

Flight A went to the McNeil Family – Rod McNeil, Michael O’Callaghan, Molly O’Callaghan and Andre Zamstra.

Flight B went to Sun Microsystems – Richard Chin, Curtis Eisinger, Brett Holt and Adam French.

Flight C went to the Seattle Coffee Quad Shots – Tom Morris, Marty Wehr, Charlie Severen and Ann-Marie Copping.

Flight D went to the Pique’s own team, the Speedy Piques – John Blok, Chris Armstrong, Alison Taylor and Fiona Minton.

The fastest male in the race was once again was Mike Varrin. The fastest female was Kerri McNolty.

The real winner, however, was the Whistler-Blackcomb Foundation, which raised more than $150,000 for local charities over the Telus Winter Classic weekend.

Readers also liked…

Latest in Features

© 1994-2019 Pique Publishing Inc., Glacier Community Media

- Website powered by Foundation