Wednesday ride even Phatter 

Despite the use of a much harder course in the July 13 Kokanee Phat Wednesday Race, the size of the field almost matched the previous event with 77 riders taking on Schleyer and Lower Whistler Downhill.

It was a wet ride but trail crews did their best to get the course in shape to make for some fast times and close finishes.

In the women’s race, Jen Ashton took the win with a good lead, but Angela Teng edged out Brook Baker by just 0.6 seconds to take second place.

The junior race went to James McSkimming by a fair margin, but the next four racers were separated by just five seconds, as Kyle Jameson edged out David Widner for second place.

Tyler Morland, the national champion, took the men’s category with a half-second gap on Adam Billinghurst. Simon Miller was third.

Once again the biggest winners of the day were the riders who claimed the draw prizes. Chris O’Byrne took the Sram X9 drive train; Simon Miller won the Giro Mad Max 2 helmet, Kim Saprunuff took the WTB tires, Adam Cook won the Garbanzo Bike and Bean Jersey, and Greg MacDonald won the Kokanee T-shirt.

The fourth event of the six-race Phat Wednesday series will take place on July 27. The course is Upper Angry Pirate, followed by the Crabapple Hits and Lower A-Line. Registration starts at 5 p.m. at the base of the bike park, and the event gets underway at 6:15 p.m.

To take part all riders must be WORCA members, have a park pass (discounts are available for WORCA members), and pay the $2 entry fee. The fee includes the race and food and refreshments at the after-race party at the GLC.



1. Jen Ashton – 3:25

2. Angela Teng – 3:32

3. Brook Baker – 3:33

4. Kim Saprunuff – 4:00

5. Kasie Stroshin – 4:02


1. James McSkimming – 3:11

2. Kyle Jameson – 3:18

3. David Widner – 3:20

4. Dan Csokonay – 3:24

5. Nicholas Geddes – 3:26


1. Tyler Morland – 2:51

2. Adam Billinghurst – 2.52

3. Simon Miller – 3:01

4. Jeff Beatty – 3:02

5. Andy Mulcahy – 3:03

Readers also liked…

Latest in Whistler

More by Andrew Mitchell

© 1994-2019 Pique Publishing Inc., Glacier Community Media

- Website powered by Foundation