Whistler coach wins national award 

Disabled ski team coach one of six awarded

Whistler’s Leslie Clarke is one of six B.C. coaches to receive a Petro Canada Coaching Excellence Award, presented by the Coaching Association of Canada. She will be formally presented with the honour on Nov. 3 at the Sports Leadership Awards Dinner in Vancouver.

Clarke has coached the Canadian Disabled Alpine Ski Team since 2003, helping to turn it into one of the top programs in the world. At her first Paralympic Games she helped guide Lauren Woolstencroft to a gold medal in women’s giant slalom and a silver in super G.

Other coaches to be honoured include wrestling coach Justin Abdou, wheelchair basketball coach Tim Frick, wheelchair curling coach Joe Rea, women’s curling coach Gerry Richard, and men’s national rowing coach Mike Spracklen.

Readers also liked…

Latest in Whistler

© 1994-2019 Pique Publishing Inc., Glacier Community Media

- Website powered by Foundation