Whistler elects three new councillors to join incumbents 

Mayor elect Jack Crompton says new council shares his priorities

click to enlarge ELECTED Re-elected councillor Cathy Jewett speaks with acclaimed Mayor Jack Crompton at the Cinnamon Bear Oct.20 after the election results.
  • ELECTED Re-elected councillor Cathy Jewett speaks with acclaimed Mayor Jack Crompton at the Cinnamon Bear Oct.20 after the election results.

Whistler will head into the next four years with three incumbents on council and three new councillors.

Leading the votes was returning councillor Cathy Jewett with 2,147, followed by Arthur De Jong at 1,973, Jen Ford at 1,799, former councillor Duane Jackson at 1,417, John Grills at 1,344, and the sixth chair went to Ralph Forsyth, who has also previously served on council, with 813.

Minutes after the results were announced, Jack Crompton, Whistler's new mayor by acclamation, said: "The corridor is strong moving forward. (In) Whistler, we have elected a council of experienced, intelligent and prepared people.

"Five (of those elected) have been on council before, and Arthur De Jong is the most qualified rookie in the history of local government.

"I share the priorities of those people that have been elected, and it's important for us to get together to understand where we're going as a council and where we're going as a community."

Said Jewett, on learning the significant number of votes she received: "It shows that the people of Whistler have a lot of faith in me, and that's a big responsibility as well.

"I want to be sure that we do the things that I talked about-the governance, the public engagement, those are two things at the top of my list.

"But also some of the work that we have to do environmentally, for affordability, on our capacity issues, all those things and, of course, housing is part of that affordability.

"I think we have another dream team. I think we have a really strong council, and I'm looking forward to seeing where we go."

In total, 2,995 people cast votes representing 32.46 per cent of eligible voters.

Previous voter turnouts rates were 1,434 in the 2017 by-election, 2,303 in the 2014 election, and 3,952 in the 2011 election.

There were 319 ballots cast at the Oct. 10 advance poll, and 380 ballots at the Oct. 13 advance poll. In addition to the voting days, 123 mail ballots were received before the close of voting.

Crompton was declared mayor by acclamation on Sept. 24. Whistler's school trustees were also acclaimed. They are incumbent Rachael Lythe and new trustee Cynthia Higgins.

Official election results will be declared by chief election officer Brooke Browning on Oct. 24 at 2 p.m. The new council will be sworn in at the Inaugural Council Meeting on Nov. 6 at 5:30 p.m. at Maury Young Arts Centre.

Pemberton preliminary election numbers are in. Elected to council are Ted Craddock (418 votes), Amica Antonelli (388 votes), Leah Noble (328 votes) and Ryan Zant (324 votes). The School trustees is Michelle Butler.

The SLRD results will be available at 4 p.m Oct. 21.

Check back with Pique for updates on this story and full coverage of the new Whistler and Pemberton councils.


Readers also liked…

Latest in Whistler

More by Pique Staff

© 1994-2019 Pique Publishing Inc., Glacier Community Media

- Website powered by Foundation