Whistler Gymnasts win awards in club meet 

Over 60 gymnasts performed in Whistler Gymnastics annual ribbon day on March 7, as local tumblers strutted, flipped and balanced their stuff in the full range of events – vault, single bar, parallel bars, floor and trampoline.

The event is similar to a mini meet, but points were awarded for impressing the coach.

Sabrina Hosner, Tyece Fairweather, Elianne Taillefer, Marina Featherston, and Laura McColm won sportsmanship awards. Best attitude awards went to Luke Braidwood, Rebecca Flynn, Desiree Smith, Jason Budge and Samantha Burt. The Blue team, which consisted of Myriam’s Classics and Marianne and Chloe’s Springers, won Most Cooperative and Spirited Team.

Everyone walked away with a ribbon or two, and some of our most promising gymnasts walked away with a handfull.

A week earlier (March 3), the club held its annual in-club meet. Most Sportsmanlike went to Nancy Bayly, Jenya Dudley, Rachael Belch, Ashlen Coombs, and Makina Coombs. Dakota Denduhf, Chantel Milan, Ben Podborski, Drew Wendall, Mackenzie Patterson, and Annik Tetreault won for Best Attitude, and the Most Co-operative and Spirited Team award went to Flight E, with Cathy’s PreKips and Miriam’s Kips.

Readers also liked…

Latest in Features

© 1994-2020 Pique Publishing Inc., Glacier Community Media

- Website powered by Foundation