Whistler Secondary scholarships 

The community of Whistler regularly comes through for its students, and the Class of 2010 is no exception. This year Whistler Secondary students received over $42,000 in scholarships and grants, mainly donated by local businesses, trusts, organizations and families.

Several students received multiple awards.

The largest Award, the $3,000 Franz Wilhelmsen scholarship, went towards Hilary Carrell. Carrell also won the $500 Andrée Janyk/Bob Calladine Award for soccer.

Marielle Thompson won the Dave Murray Memorial Award of $1,500 for her efforts with the B.C. Ski Cross team, plus the $500 Whistler Mountain Ski Club Award and the $500 Whistler Skating Club Award.

Verena Facundo won an award from the Resort Municipality of Whistler for $1,000, as well as the Walter Zebrowski Memorial Rotary Scholarship for $500, the Whistler Chamber of Commerce Citizenship Award for $500, the Whistler Scholarship Society Fund Award for $500 and the Women of Whistler Award for $500.

Zendai Kashino won the $500 Bob Brown Memorial Rotary Scholarship, the Peter Xhingnesse Memorial Scholarship for $1,000, the Spring Creek PAC Award for $500 and the Whistler Orthodontic Center Scholarship of $250.

Marco Abel Denee won the $700 Avant Contractors Award and the $500 Florence Stevenson Award.

Will Robson received the Andrée Janyk/Bob Calladine Award given to the top male soccer player for $500 and another $500 from the Sea to Sky chapter of the Canadian Home Builders Association.

Jesse Melamed received a $500 scholarship from the Whistler Off-Road Cycling Association, $500 from Whistler Minor Hockey,

Natasha Dudley won the CUPE 779 Award of $500, a Nesters Scholarship of $500, the Tinney Memorial Scholarship of $500 and a Whistler Scholarship Society Fund award of $500.

Catriona Blair won a Dogwood/District Authority award for $1,000, a Fairmont Chateau Whistler Award of $500, and the Ken Quon Memorial/Marketplace IGA Award of $1,000.

Laura McColm won a Dogwood/District Authority Award of $1,000 and the Whistler Arts Council Award of $500.

Fraser McGaw won a Dogwood/District Authority Award of $500, and a Whistler Secondary PAC Award of $1,000.

Jessica Buchholz won a Fairmont Chateau Whistler Award of $1,000, a Gibbons' Hospitality Group Award of $1,000 and the Whistler Firefighters Award of $1,000.

Paige Stewart won the Howe Sound P&VP Association Scholarship of $700 and a Nesters Scholarship of $500.

Kristina Hemingson won the $500 Margo Fraser Memorial Award and the $500 Quinny's Café Award.

Katelyn McKeever won a $1,000 RMOW Award, the $1,000 Whistler Realtor's Association Award and the $500 Warner Shoenburger Award.

Bria Darlington won the $500 Blackcomb Lodge Award and the $500 Warner Schoenburger Award.

Livvy Murray won the Fred and Ruth Barter Memorial Scholarship of $500, the Whistler Dental Scholarship of $250 and the Whistler Orthodontic Center Scholarship for $250.

Alex Sim won the $300 Sir John A. McDonald Bursary.

Myles Turcotte won the $500 Tony Tyler Memorial Award.

Mariah Spence won the $1,500 Whistler Blackcomb Award.

Cici Dufeld won the $500 Whistler Physiotherapy Award.

Hilary Iles won the Whistler Real Estate Co. Award of $1,200.

Rebecca Kinney won the W.W. Golf Award of $750,

Shaine Fairweather won a $500 Nesters Scholarship.

Patrick Taillefer won the Lift Coffee Company Award of $500.

Cele Smith won the Gibbons' Hospitality Group Award of $1,000.

Taylor Laidlaw won the Garibaldi Mortgage Award of $500.

Heidi Rey won a Dogwood/District Authority Award of $1,000 and a Whistler Arts Council Award of $500.

Nicola Halliwell won a CUPE Local 2010 Award of $1,000.

Francesca Durfeld won the $500 Creekside Dental scholarship.

Whistler Secondary will be presenting students with academic, athletic and citizenship awards at a ceremony on June 18.




Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Readers also liked…

Latest in Whistler


B.C. voters will choose a voting system for provincial elections this fall /h3>

This fall, British Columbians will vote on what voting system we should use for provincial elections...more.

© 1994-2018 Pique Publishing Inc., Glacier Community Media

- Website powered by Foundation