Whistler skiers on podium at Para-Alpine Nationals 

After a few seasons of building consistency and inching up the rankings, Vancouver's Josh Dueck exploded in the second half of the season with consecutive downhill victories in last month's IPC World Championships and the IPC World Cup finals in Whistler.

This week Dueck added national giant slalom and slalom titles to his growing resume at the Telus Canadian Para-Alpine Ski Championships at Sun Peaks.

Dueck, a paraplegic, competes in the sitting category, and finished with a three second gap on newcomer Luke Donovan of New Brunswick in the opening giant slalom. British skier Talan Skeels-Piggins took the bronze medal.

Dueck wasn't the only B.C. athlete on a podium. Viviane Forest and guide Lindsey Debout won the women's visually impaired category, while Jay Maloney and guide won the men's category.

Reigning national champions Chris Williamson and Kimberly Joines were injured at the World Cup Finals in Whistler two weeks ago and elected not to compete. Overall world champion Lauren Woolstencroft is taking some time off and also did not compete at Sun Peaks.

Chantal Fowler was the top female sitting skier, and Karolina Wisniewska edged out Whistler skier Arly Fogarty for the women's standing title. Andrea Dziewior was third in that group.

In men's standing, Whistler's Matt Hallat placed second to Alberta's Kirk Shorenstein, with Jeff Dickson third.

In the slalom event, Whistler's Matt Hallat won his fifth consecutive title in that discipline, with Jeff Foss second and Kirk Shoresnstein third.

Josh Dueck picked up the national slalom title, with Luke Donovan in second place once again. Nicolas Beaumont was third.

In visually impaired, Jay Maloney and guide beat out Bradley Barker.

Viviane Forest and guide Lindsay Debout won the women's visually impaired race unopposed, with Chantal Fowler doing the same in women's sitting. Karolina Wisniewskia was first in women's standing, with Andrea Dziewior second and Arly Fogarty third.

That event was followed by an IPC NorAm slalom race.

Matt Hallat picked up another gold medal, followed by Jeff Dickson and Kirk Shorenstein.

Josh Dueck was golden once again, with Luke Donovan picked up a third silver medal and Nicolas Beaumont in third place.

Jay Maloney won the visually impaired race with Bradley Barker and Jono Walsh rounding out the podium.

In women's standing, Karolina Wisniewska was first, Melanie Schwartz second and Andrea Dziewior third.

Chantal Fowler picked up another medal in women's sitting, racing unopposed.


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Readers also liked…

Latest in Features

More by Andrew Mitchell

© 1994-2019 Pique Publishing Inc., Glacier Community Media

- Website powered by Foundation