Whistler, Squamish riders recognized by Cycling B.C. 


Cycling B.C. held it's annual awards night last week, recognizing the contributions of riders and coaches in all riding disciplines, from road to BMX to mountain biking.

Sea to Sky riders were recognized in several categories.

Tamsin Miller of Team Squamish was recognized as the Mountain Bike Volunteer of the Year for her contributions within the community.

In the Youth Awards, Squamish's Lauren Rosser and Mo Lawrence were the Under 17 Cross Country Female and Male Cyclist of the Year respectively, while Whistler's Nick Geddes was the Under 17 Downhill Male Cyclist of the Year.

Squamish's Miranda Miller, who won the U.S. Open downhill title this year, was recognized as the Downhill female Cyclist of the Year.

Whistler's Claire Buchar also received a special recognition award for earning her first World Cup podiums in downhill this season, as well as the national championship title.

Cross country racer Geoff Kabush of Victoria won the Canadian Cycling Association's Presidents Trophy for World Championship Performance (he was fifth), while Evan Guthrie, Catharine Pendrel and Kabush won the CCA Special Recognition of Silver at World XC Championships. Pendrel was also recognized as the Female International Cyclist of the Year. Tour de France athlete Ryder Hesjedal, who won a mountain stage in the Vuelta a EspaƱa, earned Male International Cyclist of the Year.



Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Readers also liked…

Latest in Features

© 1994-2019 Pique Publishing Inc., Glacier Community Media

- Website powered by Foundation