WMSC racers on podium at Enquist Slalom at Seymour 

click to enlarge sports_results4.jpg

The 77th annual Teck Enquist Slalom took place at Mount Seymour this past weekend with racers on Saturday and Sunday on a long, 60-gate course on the Unicorn run. Athletes were born between 1995 and 1998.

Conditions were warm and soft for the most part, and courses got bumpier as the days wore on. On both days, the men were greeted with a course full of ruts and holes after 40 female racers had been through.

In the opening women's race, Antonia Wearmouth of the Grouse Mountain Tyees took the win, followed by five Whistler athletes. Stefanie Fleckenstein was second, Sarah Kapur third, Gabrielle Smith fourth, Mikayla Martin fifth and Claire Baragar sixth. Also finishing in the top 15 were Cassandra Mah in ninth and Jamsin Smallwood in 12th.

In the boy's race, James Crawford placed first for the WMSC, followed by teammate Max Peiffer. Also in the top 15 were Riley Seger in fourth, Alex Gershon in fifth, Jeffrey Cadman in sixth, Carson Llewellyn in seventh, Griffin Renzoni in ninth, Charlie Tuer in 12th and Antoine Carignan-Turcotte in 13th.

On day two, Antonia Wearmouth was first once again, this time with a gap of almost four seconds after two runs. From Whistler, Esme McTavish was second, Gabrielle Smith third, Mikayla Martin fourth, Sarah Kapur sixth, Cassandra Mah seventh, Cheyenne Ling 10th, Tamara Smallwood 11th, Maggie Tuer 13th and Jasmin Smallwood 14th.

In the second men's race the win went to Sam Mulligan of Grouse followed by six Whistler skiers; in order, they were James Crawford, Cameron Alexander, Max Peiffer, Jeffrey Cadman, Alex Gershon and Max Kirshenblatt. Charlie Tuer and Antoine Carignan-Turcotte also cracked the top 15 in 11th and 12th respectively.

The next race for the WMSC is a home event, with the club hosting the annual Parson's SG and SG provincials from Feb. 15 to 17.

Complete results are posted online at www.bcalpine.com.

Readers also liked…

Latest in Results

More by Andrew Mitchell

© 1994-2019 Pique Publishing Inc., Glacier Community Media

- Website powered by Foundation