WSS students recognized 

Lauren Mooney named Outstanding Student of the Year

By Claire Piech

School is out for the summer. And as part of the end of the year celebrations, Whistler Secondary School held its annual awards ceremony on Monday, June 18 th .

Lauren Mooney took the top award this year and was named Outstanding Student of the Year. The award, presented by high school principal Bev Oakley, honours the Grade 12 student who has excelled in a variety of areas throughout high school.

Other Grade 12 students who were commended for their outstanding achievements were Mathew Kish, who walked away with the Special Achievement Award, and Andrew Saitoh, who received the “Headed for Success” Award.

Fourteen students were presented with the Citizenship Award. This award recognizes students who have shown a leadership role within the school, made a positive-contribution to the school environment, shown initiative and responsibility, and/or demonstrated the qualities of an ambassador in representing the school within the community. Students honoured with this award were: Lauren Mooney, Adam Woods, Sam Barnes, Lonnie Wake, Alannah Balzarini, Andrew Griffiths, Nadine Crowe, Dana Jensen, Hannah Auer, Steven Dykhuisen, Tia Blunden, Ben Podborski, Dakota Denduyf and Eleanor Messeguer.

Thirty-four students were awarded with a Service Award at the ceremony. The award includes a mug and certificate and recognizes students who have gone the extra mile to help out their fellow students, the teachers, or the school in any way. Recipients this year were: Hannah Auer, Alannah Balzarini, Sam Barnes, Clarissa Bell, Tia Blunden, Lauren Cameron, Nadine Crowe, Dakota Denduyf, Jenya Dudley, Cici Durfeld, Andrew Griffiths, Holly Hetherington, Chelsea Iaconetti-Bush, Dana Jensen, Jocelyn Kay, Bronwyn Lawrie, Kianna Lopes, Maddi MacDonald, Jordan MacDonald, Eleanor Messeguer, Chantal Milan, Lauren Mooney, Tasshia Pamintuan, Maddie Reid, Heidi Rey, Sacha Rockliffe, Jenna Romanin, Jasio Smazynski, Marielle Thompson, Tegan Turcotte, Lonnie Wake, Tori Williamson, Adam Woods and Emily Wright.

MVP awards were presented to students who excelled in athletics, and subject awards were given to students who demonstrated an aptitude and/or enjoyment in various subjects.

Students on the Honour Roll, who have earned an overall average of 86 per cent and no mark less than a B, were also recognized during the ceremony.

Grade 8 Honour Roll students were: Alex Arcalean, Nico Arnason, Marlin Beswetherick, Elliot Blaiklock, Jade Cadoret, Jordan Chew, Dylan Corss, Brendan Grills, Reis Iaconetti-Bush, Taylor Kelly, Sam Lawrie, Shannon MacDonald, Cole MacDonald, Shannon MacNamara, Douglas Mosher, Harrison Shrimpton, Harlan Sim, Mark Smith, Aneta Tchakarova, Remi Vernon-Jarvis, Jan Wang, and Graham Williamson.

Grade 9 Honour Roll students were: Luana Auer, Jake Balzarini, Jessica Buchholz, Hilary Carrell, Tala Clark, Makinna Coombs, Natasha Dudley, Cici Durfeld, Verena Facundo, Nicola Halliwell, Kristi Hemingson, Hilary Iles, Zendai Kashino, Brendan Kelly, Rebecca Kinney, Barbara Kolvek, Taylor Laidlaw, Laura McColm, Katelyn McKeever, Gen McMeel, Jesse Melamed, Livvy Murray, Sarah Pickering, Heidi Rey, Alex Sim, Mariah Spence and Marielle Thomspon.

Grade 10 Honour Roll students were: Tabitha Akama, Jordie Allan, Nancy Bayly, Kirby Chew, Ellika Crichton, Dakota Denduyf, Christiana Durfeld, Steven Dykhuizen, Ethan Fairley, Lucy Halliwell, Takuma Ida, David Kolvek, Kyle MacDonald, Jacob McPhail, Chantal Milan, Keenan Nagle, Ben Oswald, Allyn Pringle, Taylor Rempel, Sterling Vernon-Jarvis, Ali Wake and Samantha Woolman.

Grade 11 Honour Roll students were: Anders Aabye, Judah Berry, Tia Blunden, Stephen Chelli, Jessica Craig, Nadine Crowe, Jenya Dudley, Chantelle Grills, Chelsea Iaconetti-Bush, Jocelyn Kay, Lisa Laird, Bronwyn Lawrie, Eleanor Messeguer, Tara Newell, Maddie Reid, David Renggli, Chantal Rey, Julian Smazynski, Melissa Smith, Lonnie Wake, and Tori Williamson.

Grade 12 Honour Roll students were: Alannah Balzarini, Sam Barnes, John Barratt, Deborah Bayliss, Matt Bayly, Griffin Bourjeaurd, Kenny Brown, Sarita Cabrera, Luke Currie, Holly Hetherington, Carly Howes, Chad Kingzett, Tamara Kinney, Chana Kleinman, Lauren Mooney, Morgan Munro, Brianne Ormerod, Sammy Paulus, Ben Podborski, Jenna Romanin, Andrew Saitoh, Kati Tchakarova, Kevin Thorton, and Adam Woods.

Finally, vice principal Nolan Cox awarded plaques to students who earned top GPAs. The Grade 8 recipient was Marlin Beswetherick, the Grade 9 recipients were Zendai Kashino and Natasha Dudley, the Grade 10 recipient was Jacob McPhail, the Grade 11 recipient was Chantelle Grills, and the Grade 12 recipient was Andrew Saitoh.


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Readers also liked…

Latest in Whistler

More by Claire Piech

© 1994-2019 Pique Publishing Inc., Glacier Community Media

- Website powered by Foundation