Skip to content
Join our Newsletter
Join our Newsletter

Here are Whistler council's new board and committee appointments

Council's next meeting set for Nov. 15
Councillors Jen Ford and Jessie Morden stand with Mayor Jack Crompton on swearing-in day.

On Nov. 1, Whistler's newly elected representatives were officially sworn in and appointed to the Resort Municipality of Whistler's various committees and boards.

Mayor Jack Crompton will be part of the most committees, at 14, followed by Councillors Ralph Forsyth (9), Arthur De Jong (9), Jeff Murl (8), Jessie Morden (8), Cathy Jewett (8), and Jen Ford (6), who in addition to committee work is also the new UBCM President

Crompton and Ford will continue as Whistler's representatives on the Squamish-Lillooet Regional District (SLRD) board, with Forsyth and Morden serving as alternative directors. The latter will attend meetings if the two regular directors cannot participate. 

Here's where your local elected officials will be focusing their efforts in the coming months:

Jack Crompton:

Governance and Ethics; Human Resources; Economic Partnership Initiative; Emergency Planning; Festivals, Events and Animation Oversight; Strategic Planning; Transportation Advisory Group; Whistler Housing Authority; Whistler Village Land Corporation; Audain Art Museum; Sea-to-Sky Regional Transit Commission; SLRD Director; SLRD Transit; Whistler Resort Association.  

Jen Ford:

Audit and Finance; Emergency Planning; Transportation Advisory Group; Whistler Housing Authority; SLRD Director; Whistler Health Care Foundation. 

Ralph Forsyth:

Audit and Finance; Governance and Ethics; Recreation and Leisure Advisory; Technology Advisory; Whistler 2020 Development Corp; Whistler Public Library Board of Trustees; Municipal Insurance Association of British Columbia; SLRD Alternative Director; Whistler Off Road Cycling Association. 

Cathy Jewett:

Governance and Ethics; Human Resources; Strategic Planning; Zero Waste; Audain Art Museum; Municipal Insurance Association of British Columbia; Whistler Community Services Society; Whistler Valley Housing Society. 

Arthur De Jong:

Forest and Wildland Advisory; Strategic Planning; Transportation Advisory Group; Whistler Bear Advisory; Zero Waste; Association of Whistler Area Residents for the Environment (AWARE); Cheakamus Community Forest Society; Environmental Legacy Fund; Whistler Centre for Sustainability. 

Jessie Morden:

Human Resources; May Long Weekend; Accessibility and Inclusion; Whistler Housing Authority; SLRD Alternative Director; Arts Whistler; Whistler Animals Galore; Whistler Community Services Society. 

Jeff Murl:

Audit and Finance; Economic Partnership Initiative; Transit Management Advisory; Advisory Design Panel; Liquor License Advisory; Whistler 2020 Development Corp; Municipal Insurance Association of British Columbia; Whistler Museum and Archives Society. 

Chief administrative officer Virginia Cullen and general manager of resort experience Jessie Gresley-Jones will also serve on the Whistler Resort Association and Cheakamus Community Forest Society boards, respectively.

Find a full schedule of upcoming council meetings at

push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks