Skip to content
Join our Newsletter

Three declare for Whistler mayor's chair

Election candidates finalized for Whistler, Pemberton, SLRD
muni hall by BD file
Whistlerites will have a choice for mayor on the ballot this year.

For the first time in nearly a decade, Whistler will have a race for the mayor's chair.

With the nomination period for the Oct. 15 municipal election ending today at 4 p.m., three have declared for mayor: Marcus Culver, Brian Walker and incumbent Jack Crompton.

There will also be 16 names vying for Whistler's six council seats this fall: Anthony Butt, Tina James, Gordon Jeffrey, Brendan Ladner, Curtis Lapadat, Melinda Lopez, Rhonda Millikin, Jessie MordenJeff Murl, Gabriel Pliska, Sarah Rush, and Dawn Titus, along with incumbents Arthur De Jong, Jen Ford, Ralph Forsyth, and Cathy Jewett.

Vying for Whistler's two school trustee positions are incumbents Cynthia Higgins and Rachael Lythe, as well as Deb Bordignon.

In Pemberton, three candidates have declared for mayor: Two-term incumbent Mike Richman, David MacKenzie, and Chadi Abouhalka. Meanwhile, six council candidates will compete for four seats: Derek Graves, Jennie Helmer, Katrina Nightingale, Laura Ramsden and Eli Zysman, along with incumbent Ted Craddock.
Melissa Ronayne is the only candidate for Pemberton school trustee, and will therefore be acclaimed to the role. 

In the Squamish-Lillooet Regional District, Sal DeMare will be acclaimed as Area A director, Vivian Birch-Jones as Area B director, Russell Mack as Area C director, and Tony Rainbow as Area D director.

Rebecca Barley, Margo Vaughan and Meredith Garner are bidding for School District 48 electoral Area 4 trustee, while Celeste Bickford will be acclaimed as the sole candidate for trustee in School District 48’s electoral Area 5. No candidate has yet declared for School District 74 trustee in rural Area A.

Pique will have profiles of all the remaining candidates yet to be covered leading up to election day on Oct. 15. For more election coverage, visit