Skip to content
Join our Newsletter
Join our Newsletter

B.C. skiers recognized

Alpine Canada Alpin presented seven awards to members of the national skiing community at their annual congress and general meeting in Calgary last week.

The 2004 Club of the Year award was presented to Cypress Ski Club in recognition of its efforts to develop athletes at the grassroots level.

The Steve Podborski Award, a $2,500 bursary given to juvenile racers in recognition of their efforts in athletics and academics, was presented to Marie-Michele Gagnon of Quebec and Sasha Zaitsoff of the Red Mountain Racers.

The Official’s Award was given to volunteer Yves Melot of Quebec.

Canadian Alpine Ski Team alumnus Graydon Oldfield received the Alumni of the Year Award for his continued involvement in the sport.

The Max Meier Award, which is presented to the provincial team that best represents the spirit of the former ACA chair, went to Bruce Goldsmid, the general manager of B.C. Alpine.

Bruce Holliday was presented with the Volunteer of the Year Award for his efforts with the Winterstart Lake Louise World Cup events.

The President’s Award was given to Renaud Beauchesnes, the retiring Chairman of the ACA board. In addition to a plaque, Beauchesnes was presented with an enlarged an autographed picture of Erik Guay, celebrating his silver medal in the downhill last season.