Skip to content
Join our Newsletter

Elyse Nieuwold, Geoff Kabush win 2024 Back Forty overall

Andrea Burley and Max McCulloch on top in timed descent
Katerina Nash during WORCA's Back Forty in 2023.

Overall crowns for the 2024 Whistler Off Road Cycling Association (WORCA) Back Forty bike race have gone to Elyse Nieuwold and Geoff Kabush. 

Nieuwold's aggregate time of two hours, 25 minutes and 54.2 seconds was fast enough to deliver her the women's championship ahead of runner-up Andrea Burley (2:40:18.0) and third-place contestant Kirsty Stormer (2:44:19.3). 

Three-time Canadian Olympian Kabush took gold among men (1:52:36.8), with Eric Olsen clocking in for silver (1:53:39.1) and bronze going to Michael van den Ham (1:57:30.1).

Meanwhile, the ladies' timed descent featured the same podium in a different order: with Burley on top (3:51.1) ahead of Stormer (3:53.8) and Nieuwold (3:56.3). 

Max McCulloch (2:58.1) superseded Kabush (3:00.0) in the men's descent, with Joe Swann rounding out the fastest three (3:08.6). 

Sam Owens (2:25:35.0) and Theresa Frendo (4:16:56.2) emerged victorious in their respective hardtail competitions.

Having just wrapped up its fourth iteration, the Back Forty carries on a legacy first sparked by the now-defunct Nimby Fifty event that once took place in Pemberton. Full results are available here.