Skip to content
Join our Newsletter
Join our Newsletter

Smith fastest in last PhaST Wednesday

The last PhaSt Wednesday race of the season took place on Aug.

The last PhaSt Wednesday race of the season took place on Aug. 25, with participants taking on a course that included Fantastic, Crank It Up, Lower Whistler Downhill and the bottom section of B-Line - emphasizing speed over technical riding on the final event of the season. Some 138 riders came out.

Kenny Smith won the men's category with a time of two minutes, 54.66 seconds, followed by Adam Billinghurst in 2:55.69 and Trevor Burke in 2:57.06. Rounding out the top 10 were Paul Stevens, Charlton Durie, Dylan Wolsky, Tristan Merrick, Thiago Velardi, Roberto Jurk and Beren Boer.

In the Master 30-plus race the win went to Bart Brown in 2:59.11, followed by Chris Dewar in 2:59.44 and Chad Hendren in 3:01.04. In the top 10 were Mathieu Hebert, Andrew Gunn, Jeff Leigh, Aaron Lyons, Todd Hellinga, Steve Storey and Tristan O'Callaghan.

Sarah Leishman won the women's race in 3:12.66, followed by Katrina Strand in 3:13.67 and Brook Baker in 3:14.98.

The top junior was Ollie Gregory-Jones in 2:58.08, followed by Bryn Dickerson in 3:02.14 and Cooper Saver in 3:12.64.

Luana Auer was the only junior female racer, but was close to the pack with a time of 3:28.60.

There were three PhaSt Wednesday events this year - which are different from Phat Wednesday races in that they focus on expert riders with the skills to race the bike park's hardest trails. The final Phat Wednesday race was on Sept. 1. Results will be posted next week.

After three races, the top male rider was Kenny Smith with 260 points. Tristan Merrick was second with 133 points.

The top master male in the series was Chris Dewar with 280 points, followed by Bart Brown with 231.

The top male was Brook Baker with 220 points. Sarah Leishman was second with 200, winning two out of three events, but missing the second race of the series.

Ollie Gregory-Jones was the top junior with 200 points, followed by Cam Johnson with 180.

The event was sponsored, with draw prizes for participants at each race. In the last even the Sram drive trains went to Nickolas Pailey and Etienne Mitaut, Chris Young won the Hayes brakes, Katrina Strand won the Sun Ringle rims, Brad Jansen won the Kali full face helmet and Robbie Dagg won the Race Face bars. Other prizes were given out from Race Face, Odi, Decline Magazine, Dakine, Garbanzo Bike and Bean, the GLC and Kokanee.

For complete results visit and click on the Events tab.

The last event scheduled for the park this year is the Red Bull 5000 Down, a mass start downhill race from the top of Whistler Mountain Sept. 11-12.